Meet the Stanton’s Team – Alissa R.


We’ve written before on the Stanton’s blog about our knowledgeable staff. Now, we’d like to give you a chance to get to know our staff on a more personal level. Over the next several months, we will be having members of the Stanton’s team take our “30 Questions in 60 Seconds” questionnaire. We hope you will get to know the “real” us, and learn how we might better be of service to you!

Alissa Ruth began working at Stanton’s in the summer of 2016. She is a former middle and high school choir director and holds a Bachelor of Music in Education degree from Capital University. She is an active choral singer in the Columbus area, and spends her free time running, doing yoga, cooking, and watching Netflix.

headshotWhat department do you work in at Stanton’s? – Choral

What do you consider your specialties here?
– I really love school choral music, especially secondary rep (since those are the age groups I taught), so I enjoy putting together recommendations for middle and high school choir directors.

How long have you been working at Stanton’s? – I started in August 2016, so I’m still one of the newbies!

What is your favorite task at Stanton’s? – I enjoy listening to the new publications and choosing recommendations based on what I hear. It keeps me listening critically and actively thinking about the students who will be learning each piece.

What is your hometown? – I grew up in Lexington, Ohio.

Where did you go to college? – I graduated from Capital University with a Bachelor of Music in Education degree.

What is your major instrument? – Voice

Where or with whom do you currently perform/teach? – I sing with the LancasterChorale in Lancaster, OH, with Choral Union at Capital University, I record new publications for Beckenhorst Press in Zionsville, IN, and I work as the Music Ministry Assistant at Broad Street Presbyterian Church here in Columbus.

What do you like to do in your spare time? – I am a runner, I love doing yoga, and I really enjoy cooking and watching Netflix. I also love, love, love to travel, so it’s a goal of mine to set aside some time each year to go out of town, even for just a small trip.

What days are you available at Stanton’s? – I generally work on Tuesdays-Saturdays.

What is the last song/piece you listened to? – I’ve been listening to the full Hamilton cast album on all of my long runs, so whichever piece I was on at the end of my last run 🙂

What is the last song/piece you played/sang? – The Dan Forrest arrangement of “O Come, All Ye Faithful” (come to the Capital University Christmas Festival!).

If you had a chance to perform with three musicians, living or dead, who would it be? – How do I choose!? I’d love to sing for Robert Shaw, and sing with Audra McDonald and Lin Manuel Miranda (though whether or not I would ever be hip enough to perform with Lin is very debatable.)

What is your most memorable musical moment? – I’m so lucky to have had a string of memorable musical moments in my career so far, but when I was in the Chapel Choir at Capital, we took a tour to South Africa, and it was incredible to be in a country whose entire culture revolves around singing. We sang with everyone we came in contact with, from other university choirs, to the kitchen staffs at restaurants, to the people in the homeless shelter, to the flight attendants. It was really a life-changing ten days.

If you could be instantly proficient on an additional instrument, what would you choose? – The piano – I played all the way through my childhood, and once I tested out of piano classes in college, I only ever used the basics to run rehearsals.

What is the most unusual performance you have ever been a part of? – I sang in the choir for the Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddesses performance this past April at the Ohio Theatre, where the orchestra and choir perform while scenes from the video games are projected above the performers. It was different from anything I’ve done before, and so fun! Many audience members came in costume, and it was great to sing such a cinematic score – I would love to do it again!

What musical sound or noise do you love? – The overtones sounding above a perfectly in-tune choir

What musical sound or noise do you hate? – Screamo – Just listening to it makes my throat hurt…

If you had your choice watching a great concert tonight or performing in a great concert tonight, which would you choose and why? – I would almost always choose to perform – there’s nothing like being part of an incredible performing ensemble! Every now and again, though, it’s nice to be in the audience and be inspired. 🙂

If heaven exists, when you arrive at the Pearly Gates, what heavenly ensemble would you like to be assigned to? – The chamber group that gets to sing early music (Monteverdi, Tallis, Palestrina, Byrd, and the like).

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? – I think it would be so exciting to be a dancer/choreographer or a journalist.

What profession would you not like to do? – I would hate any job that involves constant driving (bus driver, delivery person, etc).

On a scale of 1-10, how funny do you think you are? – If I’m asked to be funny or tell a joke on command, I’m lucky to be at a 1. My humor is a much more of a dry, in-the-moment type of skill.

Who was your first crush (if not a celebrity, some explanation)? – There was a boy named Brian who went to kindergarten with me, and he gave me a heart-shaped box of chocolates for Valentine’s Day one year.

Do you love or hate roller coasters? – I used to LOVE them, but as I get older, they make me sick 😦

If you were a super hero, what powers would you have? – I would have super-strength and invisibility.

How many pairs of shoes do you own? – Not enough!

Would you rather win the lottery or work at the perfect job? – I would rather win the lottery and then search for the perfect job knowing I could be financially set in the meantime.

If you had to eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be? – Soup!

Categories: Meet the Stanton's Team

11 replies

  1. Hello Allisa. It was wonderful
    To read about you and your many
    Accomplishments. How well I remember our times together around the Piano. I am still playing the piano here and just finishmd rehearsiing a duet with a resident. I play every Friday for 45 min. for the residents
    Give your family my greetings.
    Helen Anderson.

Trackbacks

  1. American Folk Songs for Choir – Stanton's Sheet Music
  2. Suggestions for Choral Adjudications 2017 – Stanton's Sheet Music
  3. FREE READING SESSION: In One Month! – Stanton's Sheet Music
  4. Composer Profile: Craig Hella Johnson – Stanton's Sheet Music
  5. SING from Pentatonix – Stanton's Sheet Music
  6. I Am Not Yours – Stanton's Sheet Music
  7. COMING THIS WEEKEND: Free Choral Reading Session! – Stanton's Sheet Music
  8. Fun POPS for Spring – Stanton's Sheet Music
  9. NEW for Elementary Choir – Stanton's Sheet Music
  10. New Beginnings – Graduation Options for Choir – Stanton's Sheet Music

Leave a Reply

